Press Release: Date: 09 October 2008

SEAFO CONTINUES STRENGTHENING IS FISHERIES MANAGEMENT REGIME IN SOUTH EAST ATLANTIC WATERS

Windhoek, Namibia -At its 5th Annual Meeting that took place on 6-9 October in Windhoek, Namibia, SEAFO Fisheries Commission adopted Total Allowable Catch (TAC) for the first time of orange roughy and alfonsino in the high seas of South East Atlantic waters. Based on the recommendations of SEAFO Scientific Committee, the Fisheries Commission approved a precautionary TAC for orange roughy of 100 metric tons and 200 metric tons for alfonsino for 2009 fishing season. The TACs for deep sea red crab and for the Patagonian for 2009 remain at 400 tons and 260 tons respectively. These actions were necessitated by the concerns on the sustainability of the current fisheries. As part ofInternational Plan of Action to protect sharks, SEAFO Fisheries Commission banned shark directed fisheries in high seas of South East Atlantic waters.

To protect vulnerable marine ecosystems (VMEs) from significant adverse impacts and in response to the United Nations General Assembly Resolution on sustainable fisheries (A/Res/611/05), SEAFO has adopted a conservation measure banning bottom fishing activities in all existing and new bottom fishing areas outside SEAFO closed areas.

Based on the advice and recommendations of SEAFO Compliance Committee, the Fisheries Commission strongly recommends Member States and other States fishing in the area to cooperate by providing in a

,'--'" timely manner, accurate and detailed catch, effort, discard, biological sampling data, observer reports, port inspection reports and vessel monitoring system data to SEAFO Secretariat as these data are essential for the sustainable management of the resources.

SEAFO reaffirms its call on other parties, notably Japan and Republic of Korea, currently fishing in the

area, to join the Organisation and accept responsibility and costs, thereby balancing the benefits they

draw from their fisheries in the area.

SEAFO was established in March 2004 after the entry into force of the Convention in April 2003. Angola, European Community, Namibia, Norway and South Africa are currently Members.

For further details, please contact Hashali Hamukuaya, Acting Executive Secretary: Email info@seafo.org; mobile +264-811278295.